Accountants and Auditors
SOC 13-2011 · 2024-2034
Examine, analyze, and interpret accounting records to prepare financial statements, give advice, or audit and evaluate statements prepared by others. Install or advise on systems of recording costs or other financial and budgetary data.
How the U.S. Department of Labor describes this work. Published in English only.
What California expects of this job
- Typical pay in California
- $98,678per year
- Projected openings
- 154,340
- Projected change
- +7.5%
- Usually needs
- Bachelor's degree
Bright Outlook — a U.S. Department of Labor designation
Rapid Growth · Numerous Job Openings
The Department's own designation, made from its national projections. It is not this project's assessment and it is not California's: every other figure on this page comes from California's projection, which can point the other way and for some occupations does.
Skills this work uses most
O*NET, the U.S. Department of Labor's occupation database, rates how important each of these is to this work, and they are listed in that order, most important first. The ratings themselves are not shown, because the data carries the number without the scale it was measured on. The names are as published, in English.
- Reading Comprehension
- Active Listening
- Speaking
- Critical Thinking
- Judgment and Decision Making
- Writing
Pay by region
| Region | Typical pay in California | Projected openings |
|---|---|---|
| San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA (San Benito and Santa Clara Counties) | $123,885 | 11,180 |
| San Francisco-San Mateo-Redwood City MD (San Francisco and San Mateo Counties) | $112,105 | 13,100 |
| Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties) | $104,436 | 8,750 |
| San Rafael MD (Marin County) | $102,352 | 950 |
| Napa MSA (Napa County) | $96,537 | 530 |
| Anaheim-Santa Ana-Irvine MD (Orange County) | $95,998 | 16,850 |
| Los Angeles-Long Beach-Glendale MD (Los Angeles County) | $95,349 | 42,490 |
| San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad MSA (San Diego County) | $95,162 | 13,320 |
| Vallejo MSA (Solano County) | $95,040 | 730 |
| Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura MSA (Ventura County) | $94,164 | 2,070 |
| Sacramento-Roseville-Folsom MSA (El Dorado, Placer, Sacramento, and Yolo Counties) | $91,343 | 12,000 |
| Santa Rosa-Petaluma MSA (Sonoma County) | $89,958 | 1,570 |
| Santa Maria-Santa Barbara MSA (Santa Barbara County) | $89,795 | 1,400 |
| Salinas MSA (Monterey County) | $86,433 | 970 |
| Santa Cruz-Watsonville MSA (Santa Cruz County) | $84,610 | 700 |
| Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario MSA (Riverside and San Bernardino Counties) | $84,600 | 8,420 |
| San Luis Obispo-Paso Robles MSA (San Luis Obispo County) | $83,765 | 790 |
| Stockton-Lodi MSA (San Joaquin County) | $82,981 | 1,350 |
| Bakersfield-Delano MSA (Kern County) | $81,616 | 1,670 |
| North Valley-Northern Mountains Region (Colusa, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Plumas, Sierra, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties) | $81,483 | 610 |
| Yuba City MSA (Sutter and Yuba Counties) | $80,933 | 300 |
| Redding MSA (Shasta County) | $80,567 | 410 |
| Merced MSA (Merced County) | $80,129 | 310 |
| Modesto MSA (Stanislaus County) | $80,129 | 1,160 |
| Visalia MSA (Tulare County) | $80,098 | 770 |
| Chico MSA (Butte County) | $79,446 | 420 |
| Fresno MSA (Fresno and Madera Counties) | $79,110 | 2,570 |
| Eastern Sierra-Mother Lode Region (Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Inyo, Mariposa, Mono, and Tuolumne Counties) | $78,448 | 310 |
| North Coast Region (Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, and Mendocino Counties) | $78,326 | 610 |
| El Centro MSA (Imperial County) | $78,010 | 270 |
| Hanford-Corcoran MSA (Kings County) | $77,185 | 210 |
What the pay actually ranges across
- The lowest-paid tenth earn under
- $62,806
- A quarter earn under
- $77,082
- Half earn under
- $98,678
- Three quarters earn under
- $127,961
- The highest-paid tenth earn over
- $163,213
A median is one point. These are the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for California, and they say how far apart the people doing this job actually are. Read them as the spread across everyone already in the work — not as a starting wage and not as a promise about where anyone lands.
Similar work
O*NET, the U.S. Department of Labor's occupation database, names these as occupations involving work similar to this one — its own reading of the job, not a grouping by code. They keep O*NET's order, and only those California publishes a projection for are shown.
| Occupation | Typical pay in California | Projected openings | Projected change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks | $60,632 | 178,570 | -4.1% |
| Financial Examiners | $107,778 | 3,310 | +9.1% |
| Financial Managers | $183,803 | 84,770 | +16.3% |
| Tax Preparers | $71,205 | 15,610 | +12.1% |
| Budget Analysts | $101,190 | 2,840 | +4.7% |
| Tax Examiners and Collectors, and Revenue Agents | $75,353 | 7,640 | +4.3% |
Programs that train for this job — 65
Accounting - Accounting AS Degree
Cabrillo College · Aptos · $5,270
- Working 6 months later
- 83%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $9,611
Accounting Clerk
Richard N. Slawson Occupational Center - LAUSD · Bell · $2,988
- Working 6 months later
- 39%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $13,495
Accounting Assistant & Core Skills Certificate of Achievement
City College of San Francisco · San Francisco · $200
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Computer Accounting Certificate of Achievement
City College of San Francisco · San Francisco · $998
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounts Payable Specialist Certification - Ed2Go
Los Medanos College · Pittsburg · $1,295
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Payroll & Tax Accounting
Mt. San Antonio College · Walnut · $99
- Working 6 months later
- 31%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $9,198
Accounting
Mt. San Antonio College · Walnut · $99
- Working 6 months later
- 41%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $9,716
Accounting Specialist (Certificate) (Fast Track)
UC Davis Continuing and Professional Education · Davis · $3,740
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting Principles
UC Davis Continuing and Professional Education · Davis · $3,168
- Working 6 months later
- 7%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting Principles (Fast Track)
UC Davis Continuing and Professional Education · Davis · $2,992
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting Specialist (Certificate)
UC Davis Continuing and Professional Education · Davis · $3,960
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting Clerk
El Monte Rosemead Adult School · El Monte · $145
- Working 6 months later
- 73%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Taxation Certificate (Hybrid)
UCLA Extension · Los Angeles · $4,153
- Working 6 months later
- 29%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $16,250
Internal Audit Certificate (Hybrid)
UCLA Extension · Los Angeles · $8,120
- Working 6 months later
- 60%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $12,944
Accounting Certificate of Achievement
Rio Hondo College · Whittier · $1,564
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting For Government And Nonprofit Organizations
Rio Hondo College · Whittier · $736
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Bookkeeping/Accounting
MAOF Skill Center-Bakersfield · Bakersfield · $10,000
- Working 6 months later
- 78%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $7,252
Accounting Assistant
Liberty Adult Education · Brentwood · $2,700
- Working 6 months later
- 57%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $4,950
Accounting - Advanced
De Anza College, Occupational Training Institute · Cupertino · $7,131
- Working 6 months later
- 5%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $24,515
Outcomes cover more than this program The provider filed these figures against more than the program named — several of its programs, or the whole institution. They are shown because they are real, and nothing here ranks or rates them, because they do not describe this program.
Accounting
De Anza College, Occupational Training Institute · Cupertino · $5,761
- Working 6 months later
- 6%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $12,220
Outcomes cover more than this program The provider filed these figures against more than the program named — several of its programs, or the whole institution. They are shown because they are real, and nothing here ranks or rates them, because they do not describe this program.
CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT EXAMINATION PREPARATION.
De Anza College, Occupational Training Institute · Cupertino · $5,200
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Outcomes cover more than this program The provider filed these figures against more than the program named — several of its programs, or the whole institution. They are shown because they are real, and nothing here ranks or rates them, because they do not describe this program.
Business- Accounting Certificate of Achievement
Mendocino College · Ukiah · $1,438
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Business- Accounting Associate of Science Degree
Mendocino College · Ukiah · $4,377
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Applied Accounting (Online)
UC Irvine Continuing Education · Irvine · $10,025
- Working 6 months later
- 50%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $10,000
Accounting Clerk Core
Los Angeles Technology Center - LAUSD · Los Angeles · $1,565
- Working 6 months later
- 38%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $13,495
Business Office Specialist and Accounting Assistant
CA Trade Academy · Ontario · $3,900
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
AI-Driven Accounting and Bookkeeping Mastery Program
California Institute of Career Development · San Jose · $9,300
- Working 6 months later
- 91%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $18,000
Accounting
UCSD Division of Extended Studies · La Jolla · $7,885
- Working 6 months later
- 43%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $14,817
Accounting Clerk Certificate
Abram Friedman Occupational Center-LAUSD · Los Angeles · $3,281
- Working 6 months later
- 68%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $13,495
Accounting Certificate of Achievement
College of the Desert · Palm Desert · $1,402
- Working 6 months later
- 4%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Outcomes cover more than this program The provider filed these figures against more than the program named — several of its programs, or the whole institution. They are shown because they are real, and nothing here ranks or rates them, because they do not describe this program.
Accounting AS Degree
College of the Desert · Palm Desert · $2,867
- Working 6 months later
- 4%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Outcomes cover more than this program The provider filed these figures against more than the program named — several of its programs, or the whole institution. They are shown because they are real, and nothing here ranks or rates them, because they do not describe this program.
Computerized Financial Accounting
Ventura Adult and Continuing Education · Ventura · $7,314
- Working 6 months later
- 96%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $11,625
Outcomes cover more than this program The provider filed these figures against more than the program named — several of its programs, or the whole institution. They are shown because they are real, and nothing here ranks or rates them, because they do not describe this program.
Accounting: Taxation and Quickbooks for Accounting
Amfasoft · Fremont · $6,003
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Payroll Certification and Taxation
Amfasoft · Fremont · $9,600
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting: Taxation
Amfasoft · Fremont · $4,703
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting: All in One & Payroll Certification
Amfasoft · Fremont · $10,500
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting All in One & Taxation
Amfasoft · Fremont · $9,080
- Working 6 months later
- 75%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $15,340
Accounting: All in One
Amfasoft · Fremont · $6,403
- Working 6 months later
- 79%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $7,300
Bookkeeping & MS Office Professional
Amfasoft · Fremont · $4,002
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Quickbooks for Accounting
Amfasoft · Fremont · $2,750
- Working 6 months later
- 90%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $15,500