Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks
SOC 43-3031 · 2024-2034
Compute, classify, and record numerical data to keep financial records complete. Perform any combination of routine calculating, posting, and verifying duties to obtain primary financial data for use in maintaining accounting records. May also check the accuracy of figures, calculations, and postings pertaining to business transactions recorded by other workers.
How the U.S. Department of Labor describes this work. Published in English only.
Shrinking -4.1%
California projects this job will shrink over the next ten years. Fewer openings may mean a harder search.
What California expects of this job
- Typical pay in California
- $60,632per year
- Projected openings
- 178,570
- Projected change
- -4.1%
- Usually needs
- Some college, no degree
Bright Outlook — a U.S. Department of Labor designation
Numerous Job Openings
The Department's own designation, made from its national projections. It is not this project's assessment and it is not California's: every other figure on this page comes from California's projection, which can point the other way and for some occupations does.
Skills this work uses most
O*NET, the U.S. Department of Labor's occupation database, rates how important each of these is to this work, and they are listed in that order, most important first. The ratings themselves are not shown, because the data carries the number without the scale it was measured on. The names are as published, in English.
- Mathematics
- Active Listening
- Critical Thinking
- Reading Comprehension
- Writing
- Speaking
Pay by region
| Region | Typical pay in California | Projected openings |
|---|---|---|
| San Francisco-San Mateo-Redwood City MD (San Francisco and San Mateo Counties) | $66,796 | 8,430 |
| San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA (San Benito and Santa Clara Counties) | $65,726 | 8,570 |
| Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties) | $65,383 | 9,980 |
| San Rafael MD (Marin County) | $65,033 | 1,150 |
| Napa MSA (Napa County) | $62,028 | 860 |
| Santa Cruz-Watsonville MSA (Santa Cruz County) | $61,517 | 1,250 |
| Santa Rosa-Petaluma MSA (Sonoma County) | $61,241 | 2,500 |
| Vallejo MSA (Solano County) | $60,720 | 1,410 |
| Santa Maria-Santa Barbara MSA (Santa Barbara County) | $59,913 | 2,300 |
| Salinas MSA (Monterey County) | $59,668 | 1,990 |
| San Luis Obispo-Paso Robles MSA (San Luis Obispo County) | $58,820 | 1,290 |
| Sacramento-Roseville-Folsom MSA (El Dorado, Placer, Sacramento, and Yolo Counties) | $58,514 | 9,800 |
| Anaheim-Santa Ana-Irvine MD (Orange County) | $58,117 | 18,950 |
| San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad MSA (San Diego County) | $57,952 | 14,720 |
| Los Angeles-Long Beach-Glendale MD (Los Angeles County) | $57,890 | 46,520 |
| Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura MSA (Ventura County) | $57,615 | 3,850 |
| Stockton-Lodi MSA (San Joaquin County) | $56,614 | 2,610 |
| Yuba City MSA (Sutter and Yuba Counties) | $54,417 | 560 |
| Redding MSA (Shasta County) | $54,203 | 760 |
| Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario MSA (Riverside and San Bernardino Counties) | $53,059 | 15,450 |
| North Valley-Northern Mountains Region (Colusa, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Plumas, Sierra, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties) | $52,670 | 1,670 |
| North Coast Region (Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, and Mendocino Counties) | $52,435 | 1,330 |
| Bakersfield-Delano MSA (Kern County) | $52,395 | 3,100 |
| Fresno MSA (Fresno and Madera Counties) | $51,863 | 5,230 |
| Hanford-Corcoran MSA (Kings County) | $51,159 | 450 |
| Visalia MSA (Tulare County) | $51,128 | 1,660 |
| Merced MSA (Merced County) | $50,924 | 780 |
| Modesto MSA (Stanislaus County) | $50,924 | 2,130 |
| Chico MSA (Butte County) | $50,893 | 790 |
| Eastern Sierra-Mother Lode Region (Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Inyo, Mariposa, Mono, and Tuolumne Counties) | $49,912 | 780 |
| El Centro MSA (Imperial County) | $47,736 | 650 |
What the pay actually ranges across
- The lowest-paid tenth earn under
- $42,584
- A quarter earn under
- $49,750
- Half earn under
- $60,632
- Three quarters earn under
- $72,271
- The highest-paid tenth earn over
- $83,930
A median is one point. These are the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for California, and they say how far apart the people doing this job actually are. Read them as the spread across everyone already in the work — not as a starting wage and not as a promise about where anyone lands.
Similar work
O*NET, the U.S. Department of Labor's occupation database, names these as occupations involving work similar to this one — its own reading of the job, not a grouping by code. They keep O*NET's order, and only those California publishes a projection for are shown.
| Occupation | Typical pay in California | Projected openings | Projected change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Billing and Posting Clerks | $57,591 | 44,130 | +4.8% |
| Payroll and Timekeeping Clerks | $66,886 | 17,950 | -13.8% |
| Brokerage Clerks | $79,805 | 4,850 | -8.5% |
| Office Clerks, General | $49,607 | 356,700 | -4.5% |
| Tellers | $48,010 | 19,760 | -18.1% |
| Loan Interviewers and Clerks | $58,656 | 10,410 | -6% |
Programs that train for this job — 66
Accounting Clerk/Bookkeeper Certificate
Shasta College · Redding · $2,657
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Shasta College Accounting Clerk Apprenticeship
Shasta College · Redding · $0
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Cert. of Achievement Accounting Technician
Contra Costa College · San Pablo · $2,577
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Bookkeeping Plus
West Los Angeles College · Culver City · $323
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Bookkeeping Plus QuickBooks Series
West Los Angeles College · Culver City · $623
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting - Bookkeeping Certificate of Achievement
Cabrillo College · Aptos · $1,991
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting - Accounting Certificate of Achievement
Cabrillo College · Aptos · $3,171
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Intuit QuickBooks
Antelope Valley Adult School · Lancaster · $300
- Working 6 months later
- 50%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $17,500
Accounting
Fresno City College · Fresno · $3,147
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Administrative Accounting Clerk II
Stellar Career College · Modesto · $14,000
- Working 6 months later
- 88%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $10,000
Accounting Assistant & Core Skills Certificate of Achievement
City College of San Francisco · San Francisco · $200
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks Online (Voucher Included) Ed2Go
Los Medanos College · Pittsburg · $2,375
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Certified Bookkeeper (Exam Cost Included) - Ed2Go
Los Medanos College · Pittsburg · $2,375
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Business Bookkeeping
Lemoore College · Lemoore · $1,104
- Working 6 months later
- 100%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Bookkeeping Certificate of Achievement
Lemoore College · Lemoore · $2,704
- Working 6 months later
- 50%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $23,150
Financial and Database Management
Mt. San Antonio College · Walnut · $110
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Professional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks Online (voucher included)
California State University San Marcos Extended Learning · San Marcos · $2,695
- Working 6 months later
- 58%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Professsional Bookkeeping with QuickBooks
Loyola Marymount University - LMU Extension · Los Angeles · $2,695
- Working 6 months later
- 67%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $13,440
Certified Bookkeeper (GES 202)
Loyola Marymount University - LMU Extension · Los Angeles · $3,270
- Working 6 months later
- 43%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $7,631
Bookkeeping (Online)
UCLA Extension · Los Angeles · $3,898
- Working 6 months later
- 47%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $13,000
Accounting Clerk
Martinez Adult Education · Martinez · $905
- Working 6 months later
- 80%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $10,724
Bookkeeper
Martinez Adult Education · Martinez · $1,525
- Working 6 months later
- 82%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $11,322
Accounting Assistant
Liberty Adult Education · Brentwood · $2,700
- Working 6 months later
- 57%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $4,950
Accounting Specialist Certificate
Liberty Adult Education · Brentwood · $3,025
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Business- Accounting Certificate of Achievement
Mendocino College · Ukiah · $1,438
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Small Business Bookkeeping Program Live Online
International College · Valencia · $4,500
- Working 6 months later
- 44%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $14,775
Small Business Bookkeeping Online
ABC Technical College · El Monte · $4,953
- Working 6 months later
- 71%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $9,989
Business Office Specialist and Accounting Assistant
CA Trade Academy · Ontario · $3,900
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
AI-Driven Accounting and Bookkeeping Mastery Program
California Institute of Career Development · San Jose · $9,300
- Working 6 months later
- 91%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $18,000
Accounting Certificate
Woodland Community College · Woodland · $4,600
- Working 6 months later
- 100%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting & Finance
Sillers Institute · Palm Desert · $8,000
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting Clerk
Ventura Adult and Continuing Education · Ventura · $5,028
- Working 6 months later
- 100%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $11,120
Outcomes cover more than this program The provider filed these figures against more than the program named — several of its programs, or the whole institution. They are shown because they are real, and nothing here ranks or rates them, because they do not describe this program.
Computerized Financial Accounting
Ventura Adult and Continuing Education · Ventura · $7,314
- Working 6 months later
- 96%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $11,625
Outcomes cover more than this program The provider filed these figures against more than the program named — several of its programs, or the whole institution. They are shown because they are real, and nothing here ranks or rates them, because they do not describe this program.
Computerized Accounting & Bookkeeping
Amfasoft · Fremont · $4,000
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Certified Bookkeeper and QuickBooks
Amfasoft · Fremont · $8,000
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting All in One & Taxation
Amfasoft · Fremont · $9,080
- Working 6 months later
- 75%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $15,340
Certified Bookkeeper
Amfasoft · Fremont · $6,003
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting: All in One
Amfasoft · Fremont · $6,403
- Working 6 months later
- 79%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $7,300
Bookkeeping & MS Office Professional
Amfasoft · Fremont · $4,002
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Accounting-Bookkeeping: Certificate of Achievement
Napa Valley College · Napa · $1,924
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported