Accounting Specialist (Certificate)
UC Davis Continuing and Professional Education · Davis, CA
- Cost
- $3,960
- Length
- 104 weeks
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
Program names and program descriptions appear here in English, because that is the only language the federal and state records publish them in. Occupation titles are translated where O*NET publishes a Spanish name. Everything else on this page is translated.
What happened to people who took this
- People enrolled
- 166
- Finished the program
- 51%Based on 72 peopleTypical California program: 85% of 1,951 reportingThat median pools every California program that reported this measure, whatever its length, credential, or field, and leaves out the ones that reported nothing. It is a reference point, not a rating of this program.
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
The jobs this trains for
This describes the jobs people do, not the classes this program teaches. It comes from the U.S. Department of Labor, which asks people already doing the work. The Department publishes it in English only, so the job names and the sentences below stay in English on this page.
Trains for more than one job. The outlook shown is the weakest of them.
No regional figures for this program
This program's ZIP code reaches into more than one of the labor-market areas California publishes, and nothing in the state's own area titles says which one it belongs to. Either answer would look exactly like a correct answer here, so neither is given and the statewide figures stand alone.
Financial Managers
Job ads may call this: Branch Manager · Credit Manager · Accounting Supervisor · Business Banking Manager
Some of what people in this job do. The Department rates how important each one is, and they appear in that order.
- Establish procedures for custody or control of assets, records, loan collateral, or securities to ensure safekeeping.
- Establish and maintain relationships with individual or business customers or provide assistance with problems these customers may encounter.
- Communicate with stockholders or other investors to provide information or to raise capital.
- Oversee the flow of cash or financial instruments.
Show 4 more things this job involves
- Develop or analyze information to assess the current or future financial status of firms.
- Plan, direct, or coordinate the activities of workers in branches, offices, or departments of establishments, such as branch banks, brokerage firms, risk and insurance departments, or credit departments.
- Approve, reject, or coordinate the approval or rejection of lines of credit or commercial, real estate, or personal loans.
- Prepare financial or regulatory reports required by laws, regulations, or boards of directors.
- Typical pay in California
- $183,803per year
- Projected openings
- 84,770
- Projected change
- +16.3%
- Usually needs
- Bachelor's degree
Getting in
- Experience needed first
- 5 years or more in a related job
- Training after you are hired
- None
Most people hired for this job have already spent 5 years or more in a related one. Finishing this program may not be enough on its own. Ask the provider who hires their graduates, and what those people did before.
These are the federal government's answers for the occupation, not rules this provider sets. California publishes the same two answers for every one of these jobs.
Accountants and Auditors
Pay, hiring, and what people studied
Job ads may call this: Auditor · Accountant · Audit Partner · Cost Accountant
- Prepare detailed reports on audit findings.
- Report to management about asset utilization and audit results, and recommend changes in operations and financial activities.
- Collect and analyze data to detect deficient controls, duplicated effort, extravagance, fraud, or non-compliance with laws, regulations, and management policies.
- Inspect account books and accounting systems for efficiency, effectiveness, and use of accepted accounting procedures to record transactions.
Show 4 more things this job involves
- Supervise auditing of establishments, and determine scope of investigation required.
- Examine and evaluate financial and information systems, recommending controls to ensure system reliability and data integrity.
- Confer with company officials about financial and regulatory matters.
- Inspect cash on hand, notes receivable and payable, negotiable securities, and canceled checks to confirm records are accurate.
- Typical pay in California
- $98,678per year
- Projected openings
- 154,340
- Projected change
- +7.5%
- Usually needs
- Bachelor's degree
Getting in
- Experience needed first
- None
- Training after you are hired
- None
No earlier job experience is expected, and new hires are not put through a long training period. For work like this, a program is usually the way in.
Program details
This program provides online instruction, e-learning, or distance learning only.
The Accounting Specialist Certificate Program provides a strong foundation in the concepts and theories behind todays best practices in accounting. Participants will build analytical skills to assess accounting methods, understand audit processes, and develop effective internal controls. The program also teaches how to apply accounting principles across diverse business and financial environments.
Someone else may be able to pay for this
This program was on California's Eligible Training Provider List when the state last reported it to the U.S. Department of Labor (2026-09-18). Programs on that list can be paid for through an Individual Training Account. Listings are renewed periodically and can lapse, so a program listed when the state last reported may not be listed today. Ask before you rely on it.
Ask before you enroll, not after
The order the rules set out starts at the center rather than at the school. Before a center can find somebody eligible for training services it has to gather enough to decide, at a minimum through an interview, evaluation or assessment and career planning. Referring a person to the provider they have chosen and setting up the account both come after that, and both are the center's to do — the account is a payment agreement with the training provider, and it is the provider that is paid through it. So the call belongs before enrolling and before paying. Anyone who has already done either should still ask, and ask what it means for them.
The place to ask is an America's Job Center of California
YoloWorks! Career Center- WoodlandComprehensive center
Phone: 530-661-2641
25 North Cottonwood StreetGonzalez BuildingWoodland, CA 95695about 9.4 miles away
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am-4:00pm
YoloWorks! Career Center-West SacramentoAffiliate site
Phone: 916-375-6307
500 Jefferson BlvdHealth and Human Services AgencyWest Sacramento, CA 95605about 14.9 miles away
Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 8:00am-4:00pm
Asian Resources, Inc. (ARI) AJCCAffiliate site
Phone: 916-324-6202
2411 Alhambra BlvdNeighborWorks HomeOwnership Center Suite 110Sacramento, CA 95817about 17.7 miles away
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 4:30pm
At a comprehensive center all the required partner programs can be reached; an affiliate site offers some of them. Distances are straight-line, so the drive is longer. Call before you travel: opening hours here are as the federal directory published them, and the state notes its own staff are not present at every location.
Find a center anywhere in California, and check what is on the list today:
CareerOneStop — American Job Center Finder (U.S. DOL) · California EDD — Office Locator · California EDD — Eligible Training Provider List
How this gets paid for, and what to ask →
Whether a person can have a program paid for is decided by their local workforce development board and the America's Job Center staff who interview them — not by this site, and not by the training provider. California has 45 local workforce development areas and each sets its own policies, so the answer can differ between two people in neighboring counties. Nothing here is a promise of funding or a determination of eligibility.
The rules cited here, and the state and federal sites linked to, are published in English.
How this site gets its figures, and what they do not tell you →