Not a California state website. An independent project built from public data.
Afterward · CA

California training programs, and what happened to the people who took them

Español (inicio)

Back to search

Retail Business Management Certificate of Achievement

Lemoore College · Lemoore, CA

Cost
$2,854
Length
36 weeks
Working 6 months later
Not reported

Program names and program descriptions appear here in English, because that is the only language the federal and state records publish them in. Occupation titles are translated where O*NET publishes a Spanish name. Everything else on this page is translated.

What happened to people who took this

People enrolled
52
Finished the program
13%Based on 71 peopleTypical California program: 85% of 1,951 reportingThat median pools every California program that reported this measure, whatever its length, credential, or field, and leaves out the ones that reported nothing. It is a reference point, not a rating of this program.
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earnings in one quarter after
Not reported

The jobs this trains for

This describes the jobs people do, not the classes this program teaches. It comes from the U.S. Department of Labor, which asks people already doing the work. The Department publishes it in English only, so the job names and the sentences below stay in English on this page.

Shrinking -3.4%
California projects this job will shrink over the next ten years. Fewer openings may mean a harder search.

Trains for more than one job. The outlook shown is the weakest of them.

Related work California expects more of

The U.S. Department of Labor lists these as related to the job above, and California projects growth in them rather than decline. Related is not the same as interchangeable: the training, the licenses and the pay can all differ, and this program does not train for these. It is a place to start asking, not a recommendation.

Where California publishes a separate figure for Hanford-Corcoran MSA (Kings County), it appears beneath the statewide one. Statewide stays the headline: people who train here do not necessarily work here.

General and Operations Managers

Job ads may call this: Store Manager · Center Manager · Business Manager · District Manager

Some of what people in this job do. The Department rates how important each one is, and they appear in that order.

  • Review financial statements, sales or activity reports, or other performance data to measure productivity or goal achievement or to identify areas needing cost reduction or program improvement.
  • Direct and coordinate activities of businesses or departments concerned with the production, pricing, sales, or distribution of products.
  • Manage the movement of goods into and out of production facilities to ensure efficiency, effectiveness, or sustainability of operations.
  • Direct administrative activities directly related to making products or providing services.
Show 4 more things this job involves
  • Set prices or credit terms for goods or services, based on forecasts of customer demand.
  • Prepare staff work schedules and assign specific duties.
  • Direct or coordinate financial or budget activities to fund operations, maximize investments, or increase efficiency.
  • Perform sales floor work, such as greeting or assisting customers, stocking shelves, or taking inventory.

What this pays in Hanford-Corcoran MSA (Kings County)

Each bar runs from the lowest-paid tenth to the highest-paid tenth. The darker middle is where half the people are, and the line is the median.

AreaThe lowest-paid tenth earn underHalf earn underThe highest-paid tenth earn over
Hanford-Corcoran MSA (Kings County)$55,587$106,487$214,682
Across California$61,383$126,477$298,739

The federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for Hanford-Corcoran MSA (Kings County) beside the same figures for the whole state. A region can sit well below or above the statewide spread, and the statewide number is the one most often quoted — so where they differ, the local row is the one that describes the work near this program.

Typical pay in California
$126,477per yearHanford-Corcoran MSA: $102,547
Projected openings
264,410Hanford-Corcoran MSA: 500
Projected change
+6.7%
Usually needs
Bachelor's degree

Getting in

Experience needed first
5 years or more in a related job
Training after you are hired
None

Most people hired for this job have already spent 5 years or more in a related one. Finishing this program may not be enough on its own. Ask the provider who hires their graduates, and what those people did before.

These are the federal government's answers for the occupation, not rules this provider sets. California publishes the same two answers for every one of these jobs.

Sales Managers

Pay, hiring, and what people studied

Job ads may call this: Sales Manager · Sales Director · Sales Supervisor · District Sales Manager

  • Oversee regional and local sales managers and their staffs.
  • Resolve customer complaints regarding sales and service.
  • Monitor customer preferences to determine focus of sales efforts.
  • Confer with potential customers regarding equipment needs, and advise customers on types of equipment to purchase.
Show 4 more things this job involves
  • Review operational records and reports to project sales and determine profitability.
  • Plan and direct staffing, training, and performance evaluations to develop and control sales and service programs.
  • Direct and coordinate activities involving sales of manufactured products, services, commodities, real estate, or other subjects of sale.
  • Determine price schedules and discount rates.

What this pays in Hanford-Corcoran MSA (Kings County)

Each bar runs from the lowest-paid tenth to the highest-paid tenth. The darker middle is where half the people are, and the line is the median.

AreaThe lowest-paid tenth earn underHalf earn underThe highest-paid tenth earn over
Hanford-Corcoran MSA (Kings County)$54,804$103,294$218,241
Across California$65,511$137,173$305,623

The federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for Hanford-Corcoran MSA (Kings County) beside the same figures for the whole state. A region can sit well below or above the statewide spread, and the statewide number is the one most often quoted — so where they differ, the local row is the one that describes the work near this program.

Typical pay in California
$137,173per yearHanford-Corcoran MSA: $101,600
Projected openings
88,500Hanford-Corcoran MSA: 90
Projected change
+2.9%
Usually needs
Bachelor's degree

Getting in

Experience needed first
Under 5 years in a related job
Training after you are hired
None

Employers usually expect some time in a related job as well as the training. Ask the provider what their graduates did before they were hired.

First-Line Supervisors of Retail Sales Workers

Pay, hiring, and what people studied

Job ads may call this: Key Carrier · Shift Manager · Store Manager · Bakery Manager

  • Provide customer service by greeting and assisting customers and responding to customer inquiries and complaints.
  • Direct and supervise employees engaged in sales, inventory-taking, reconciling cash receipts, or in performing services for customers.
  • Formulate pricing policies for merchandise, according to profitability requirements.
  • Examine merchandise to ensure that it is correctly priced and displayed and that it functions as advertised.
Show 4 more things this job involves
  • Monitor sales activities to ensure that customers receive satisfactory service and quality goods.
  • Instruct staff on how to handle difficult and complicated sales.
  • Assign employees to specific duties.
  • Hire, train, and evaluate personnel in sales or marketing establishments, promoting or firing workers when appropriate.

What this pays in Hanford-Corcoran MSA (Kings County)

Each bar runs from the lowest-paid tenth to the highest-paid tenth. The darker middle is where half the people are, and the line is the median.

AreaThe lowest-paid tenth earn underHalf earn underThe highest-paid tenth earn over
Hanford-Corcoran MSA (Kings County)$38,185$47,812$74,321
Across California$39,214$55,370$78,297

The federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for Hanford-Corcoran MSA (Kings County) beside the same figures for the whole state. A region can sit well below or above the statewide spread, and the statewide number is the one most often quoted — so where they differ, the local row is the one that describes the work near this program.

Typical pay in California
$55,370per yearHanford-Corcoran MSA: $48,211
Projected openings
126,230Hanford-Corcoran MSA: 410
Projected change
-3.4%
Usually needs
High school diploma or equivalent

Getting in

Experience needed first
Under 5 years in a related job
Training after you are hired
None

Employers usually expect some time in a related job as well as the training. Ask the provider what their graduates did before they were hired.

Program details

This is a hybrid or blended program providing both in-person and online instruction.

A program that prepares individuals to manage the operations of a wide variety of retail businesses including department stores independent and chain stores fashion food and beverage and pharmaceutical establishments and online retail businesses. Includes instruction in retail management merchandise management customer service management marketing organizational behavior accounting finance business law and personnel management.

Someone else may be able to pay for this

This program was on California's Eligible Training Provider List when the state last reported it to the U.S. Department of Labor (2026-09-18). Programs on that list can be paid for through an Individual Training Account. Listings are renewed periodically and can lapse, so a program listed when the state last reported may not be listed today. Ask before you rely on it.

Ask before you enroll, not after

The order the rules set out starts at the center rather than at the school. Before a center can find somebody eligible for training services it has to gather enough to decide, at a minimum through an interview, evaluation or assessment and career planning. Referring a person to the provider they have chosen and setting up the account both come after that, and both are the center's to do — the account is a payment agreement with the training provider, and it is the provider that is paid through it. So the call belongs before enrolling and before paying. Anyone who has already done either should still ask, and ask what it means for them.

The place to ask is an America's Job Center of California

No America's Job Center is within about 25 miles of this program's city. These are the nearest ones anyway — further out, and worth a phone call before a journey:

  • Parlier-Workforce ConnectionAffiliate site

    Phone: 559-230-4400

    13660 East Manning AveSuite 103Parlier, CA 93648about 26.7 miles away

    Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm

  • Tulare County Employment Connection - TulareAffiliate site

    Phone: 559-684-1987

    155 N. K StreetTulare, CA 93274about 27 miles away

    Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm

At a comprehensive center all the required partner programs can be reached; an affiliate site offers some of them. Distances are straight-line, so the drive is longer. Call before you travel: opening hours here are as the federal directory published them, and the state notes its own staff are not present at every location.

Find a center anywhere in California, and check what is on the list today:
CareerOneStop — American Job Center Finder (U.S. DOL) · California EDD — Office Locator · California EDD — Eligible Training Provider List

How this gets paid for, and what to ask

Whether a person can have a program paid for is decided by their local workforce development board and the America's Job Center staff who interview them — not by this site, and not by the training provider. California has 45 local workforce development areas and each sets its own policies, so the answer can differ between two people in neighboring counties. Nothing here is a promise of funding or a determination of eligibility.

The rules cited here, and the state and federal sites linked to, are published in English.

How this site gets its figures, and what they do not tell you