Not a California state website. An independent project built from public data.
Afterward · CA

California training programs, and what happened to the people who took them

Español (inicio)

Back to search

Culinary Arts-Certificate of Achievement

Woodland Community College · Woodland, CA

Cost
$2,230
Length
52 weeks
Working 6 months later
Not reported

Program names and program descriptions appear here in English, because that is the only language the federal and state records publish them in. Occupation titles are translated where O*NET publishes a Spanish name. Everything else on this page is translated.

What happened to people who took this

People enrolled
112

Small group — treat with caution

Finished the program
Not reported
Working 6 months later
100%
Earnings in one quarter after
Not reported

The job this trains for

This describes the jobs people do, not the classes this program teaches. It comes from the U.S. Department of Labor, which asks people already doing the work. The Department publishes it in English only, so the job names and the sentences below stay in English on this page.

Where California publishes a separate figure for Chico MSA (Butte County), it appears beneath the statewide one. Statewide stays the headline: people who train here do not necessarily work here.

Cooks, Restaurant

Job ads may call this: Cook · Saucier · Fry Cook · Line Cook

Some of what people in this job do. The Department rates how important each one is, and they appear in that order.

  • Ensure food is stored and cooked at correct temperature by regulating temperature of ovens, broilers, grills, and roasters.
  • Inspect and clean food preparation areas, such as equipment, work surfaces, and serving areas, to ensure safe and sanitary food-handling practices.
  • Portion, arrange, and garnish food, and serve food to waiters or patrons.
  • Season and cook food according to recipes or personal judgment and experience.
Show 4 more things this job involves
  • Ensure freshness of food and ingredients by checking for quality, keeping track of old and new items, and rotating stock.
  • Coordinate and supervise work of kitchen staff.
  • Bake, roast, broil, and steam meats, fish, vegetables, and other foods.
  • Weigh, measure, and mix ingredients according to recipes or personal judgment, using various kitchen utensils and equipment.

What this pays in Chico MSA (Butte County)

Each bar runs from the lowest-paid tenth to the highest-paid tenth. The darker middle is where half the people are, and the line is the median.

AreaThe lowest-paid tenth earn underHalf earn underThe highest-paid tenth earn over
Chico MSA (Butte County)$36,307$38,942$46,899
Across California$38,040$46,017$56,988

The federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for Chico MSA (Butte County) beside the same figures for the whole state. A region can sit well below or above the statewide spread, and the statewide number is the one most often quoted — so where they differ, the local row is the one that describes the work near this program.

Typical pay in California
$46,017per yearChico MSA: $39,101
Projected openings
271,050Chico MSA: 1,290
Projected change
+18.5%
Usually needs
No formal educational credential

Getting in

Experience needed first
Under 5 years in a related job
Training after you are hired
1 to 12 months

Employers usually expect some time in a related job as well as the training. Ask the provider what their graduates did before they were hired.

These are the federal government's answers for the occupation, not rules this provider sets. California publishes the same two answers for every one of these jobs.

Program details

This program provides in-person instruction only.

A program that focuses on the general study of the cooking and related culinary arts, and that may prepare individuals for a variety of jobs within the food service industry. Includes instruction in food preparation, cooking techniques, equipment operation and maintenance, sanitation and safety, communication skills, applicable regulations, and principles of food service management.

Someone else may be able to pay for this

This program was on California's Eligible Training Provider List when the state last reported it to the U.S. Department of Labor (2026-09-18). Programs on that list can be paid for through an Individual Training Account. Listings are renewed periodically and can lapse, so a program listed when the state last reported may not be listed today. Ask before you rely on it.

Ask before you enroll, not after

The order the rules set out starts at the center rather than at the school. Before a center can find somebody eligible for training services it has to gather enough to decide, at a minimum through an interview, evaluation or assessment and career planning. Referring a person to the provider they have chosen and setting up the account both come after that, and both are the center's to do — the account is a payment agreement with the training provider, and it is the provider that is paid through it. So the call belongs before enrolling and before paying. Anyone who has already done either should still ask, and ask what it means for them.

The place to ask is an America's Job Center of California

  • Nations Finest OfficeAffiliate site

    Phone: 530-809-2831

    535 Wall StreetChico, CA 95928about 1.9 miles away

    Hours: Monday -Friday 8:00am-5:00pm

  • Alliance for Workforce Development, Inc.Comprehensive center

    Phone: 530-961-5125

    500 Cohasset Road, Suite # 30Chico, CA 95926about 3.6 miles away

    Hours: Monday - -Friday 8:000am - 5:00pm

    Has a veterans' representative

  • Alliance for Workforce Development Inc.-OrovilleComprehensive center

    Phone: 530-538-7301

    78 Table Mountain BlvdButte Co. Dept. of Employment and Social ServicesOroville, CA 95965about 18.8 miles away

    Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm

    Has a veterans' representative

At a comprehensive center all the required partner programs can be reached; an affiliate site offers some of them. Distances are straight-line, so the drive is longer. Call before you travel: opening hours here are as the federal directory published them, and the state notes its own staff are not present at every location.

Find a center anywhere in California, and check what is on the list today:
CareerOneStop — American Job Center Finder (U.S. DOL) · California EDD — Office Locator · California EDD — Eligible Training Provider List

How this gets paid for, and what to ask

Whether a person can have a program paid for is decided by their local workforce development board and the America's Job Center staff who interview them — not by this site, and not by the training provider. California has 45 local workforce development areas and each sets its own policies, so the answer can differ between two people in neighboring counties. Nothing here is a promise of funding or a determination of eligibility.

The rules cited here, and the state and federal sites linked to, are published in English.

How this site gets its figures, and what they do not tell you