Not a California state website. An independent project built from public data.
Afterward · CA

California training programs, and what happened to the people who took them

Español (inicio)

Back to search

Digital Marketing

De Anza College, Occupational Training Institute · Cupertino, CA

Cost
$5,700
Length
40 weeks
Working 6 months later
Not reported

Program names and program descriptions appear here in English, because that is the only language the federal and state records publish them in. Occupation titles are translated where O*NET publishes a Spanish name. Everything else on this page is translated.

What happened to people who took this

People enrolled
13,155
Finished the program
44%Based on 10,628 people
Working 6 months later
88%
Earnings in one quarter after
Not reported

The jobs this trains for

This describes the jobs people do, not the classes this program teaches. It comes from the U.S. Department of Labor, which asks people already doing the work. The Department publishes it in English only, so the job names and the sentences below stay in English on this page.

Trains for more than one job. The outlook shown is the weakest of them.

Where California publishes a separate figure for San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA (San Benito and Santa Clara Counties), it appears beneath the statewide one. Statewide stays the headline: people who train here do not necessarily work here.

Marketing Managers

Job ads may call this: Brand Manager · Product Manager · Marketing Manager · Account Supervisor

Some of what people in this job do. The Department rates how important each one is, and they appear in that order.

  • Identify, develop, or evaluate marketing strategy, based on knowledge of establishment objectives, market characteristics, and cost and markup factors.
  • Formulate, direct, or coordinate marketing activities or policies to promote products or services, working with advertising or promotion managers.
  • Evaluate the financial aspects of product development, such as budgets, expenditures, research and development appropriations, or return-on-investment and profit-loss projections.
  • Develop pricing strategies, balancing firm objectives and customer satisfaction.
Show 4 more things this job involves
  • Compile lists describing product or service offerings.
  • Direct the hiring, training, or performance evaluations of marketing or sales staff and oversee their daily activities.
  • Consult with product development personnel on product specifications, such as design, color, or packaging.
  • Use sales forecasting or strategic planning to ensure the sale and profitability of products, lines, or services, analyzing business developments and monitoring market trends.

What this pays in San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA (San Benito and Santa Clara Counties)

Each bar runs from the lowest-paid tenth to the highest-paid tenth. The darker middle is where half the people are, and the line is the median.

AreaThe lowest-paid tenth earn underHalf earn underThe highest-paid tenth earn over
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA (San Benito and Santa Clara Counties)$146,080$235,252$356,024
Across California$106,121$196,868$331,876

The federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA (San Benito and Santa Clara Counties) beside the same figures for the whole state. A region can sit well below or above the statewide spread, and the statewide number is the one most often quoted — so where they differ, the local row is the one that describes the work near this program.

Typical pay in California
$196,868per yearSan Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA: $232,818
Projected openings
49,260San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA: 6,650
Projected change
+8.1%
Usually needs
Bachelor's degree

Getting in

Experience needed first
5 years or more in a related job
Training after you are hired
None

Most people hired for this job have already spent 5 years or more in a related one. Finishing this program may not be enough on its own. Ask the provider who hires their graduates, and what those people did before.

These are the federal government's answers for the occupation, not rules this provider sets. California publishes the same two answers for every one of these jobs.

Media and Communication Workers, All Other

Pay, hiring, and what people studied

The Department publishes no list of daily tasks for this job. This is how it describes the work instead.

All media and communication workers not listed separately.

Typical pay in California
$105,503per yearSan Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA: $121,505
Projected openings
13,840San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA: 190
Projected change
+11.7%
Usually needs
High school diploma or equivalent

Getting in

Experience needed first
None
Training after you are hired
Under a month

No earlier job experience is expected, and new hires are not put through a long training period. For work like this, a program is usually the way in.

Program details

This program provides online instruction, e-learning, or distance learning only.

A program that focuses on the development use critical evaluation and regulation of new electronic communication technologies using computer applications and that prepares individuals to function as developers and managers of digital communications media. Includes instruction in computer and telecommunications technologies and processes design and development of digital communications marketing and distribution digital communications regulation law and policy the study of human interaction with and use of digital media and emerging trends and issues.

Someone else may be able to pay for this

This program was on California's Eligible Training Provider List when the state last reported it to the U.S. Department of Labor (2026-09-18). Programs on that list can be paid for through an Individual Training Account. Listings are renewed periodically and can lapse, so a program listed when the state last reported may not be listed today. Ask before you rely on it.

Ask before you enroll, not after

The order the rules set out starts at the center rather than at the school. Before a center can find somebody eligible for training services it has to gather enough to decide, at a minimum through an interview, evaluation or assessment and career planning. Referring a person to the provider they have chosen and setting up the account both come after that, and both are the center's to do — the account is a payment agreement with the training provider, and it is the provider that is paid through it. So the call belongs before enrolling and before paying. Anyone who has already done either should still ask, and ask what it means for them.

The place to ask is an America's Job Center of California

  • NOVAworksComprehensive center

    Phone: 408-730-7232

    456 W. Olive AvenueSunnyvale City HallSunnyvale, CA 94086about 5.7 miles away

    Hours: Mon - Fri 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

  • North San Jose America`s Job Center of CaliforniaAffiliate site

    Phone: 408-216-6200

    1901 Zanker RoadSan Jose, CA 95112about 11.1 miles away

    Hours: Monday-Friday 8am-5pm

    Has a veterans' representative

  • San Jose Job CenterComprehensive center

    Phone: 408-794-1101

    1608 Las Plumas AvenueWork2Future-Silicon Workforce Development BoardSan Jose, CA 95133about 12.9 miles away

    Hours: Monday - Friday 8a-5p

At a comprehensive center all the required partner programs can be reached; an affiliate site offers some of them. Distances are straight-line, so the drive is longer. Call before you travel: opening hours here are as the federal directory published them, and the state notes its own staff are not present at every location.

Find a center anywhere in California, and check what is on the list today:
CareerOneStop — American Job Center Finder (U.S. DOL) · California EDD — Office Locator · California EDD — Eligible Training Provider List

How this gets paid for, and what to ask

Whether a person can have a program paid for is decided by their local workforce development board and the America's Job Center staff who interview them — not by this site, and not by the training provider. California has 45 local workforce development areas and each sets its own policies, so the answer can differ between two people in neighboring counties. Nothing here is a promise of funding or a determination of eligibility.

The rules cited here, and the state and federal sites linked to, are published in English.

How this site gets its figures, and what they do not tell you