Phlebotomists
SOC 31-9097 · 2024-2034
Draw blood for tests, transfusions, donations, or research. May explain the procedure to patients and assist in the recovery of patients with adverse reactions.
How the U.S. Department of Labor describes this work. Published in English only.
What California expects of this job
- Typical pay in California
- $57,459per year
- Projected openings
- 19,970
- Projected change
- +14.7%
- Usually needs
- Postsecondary non-degree award
Bright Outlook — a U.S. Department of Labor designation
Rapid Growth
The Department's own designation, made from its national projections. It is not this project's assessment and it is not California's: every other figure on this page comes from California's projection, which can point the other way and for some occupations does.
Skills this work uses most
O*NET, the U.S. Department of Labor's occupation database, rates how important each of these is to this work, and they are listed in that order, most important first. The ratings themselves are not shown, because the data carries the number without the scale it was measured on. The names are as published, in English.
- Service Orientation
- Social Perceptiveness
- Active Listening
- Speaking
- Critical Thinking
- Reading Comprehension
Pay by region
| Region | Typical pay in California | Projected openings |
|---|---|---|
| San Francisco-San Mateo-Redwood City MD (San Francisco and San Mateo Counties) | $64,733 | 750 |
| Santa Maria-Santa Barbara MSA (Santa Barbara County) | $63,094 | 360 |
| North Valley-Northern Mountains Region (Colusa, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Plumas, Sierra, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties) | $62,950 | 150 |
| San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA (San Benito and Santa Clara Counties) | $62,539 | 580 |
| San Rafael MD (Marin County) | $62,528 | 80 |
| Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties) | $60,631 | 1,050 |
| Anaheim-Santa Ana-Irvine MD (Orange County) | $60,196 | 1,730 |
| Redding MSA (Shasta County) | $60,060 | 130 |
| Santa Rosa-Petaluma MSA (Sonoma County) | $59,927 | 160 |
| Santa Cruz-Watsonville MSA (Santa Cruz County) | $59,094 | 70 |
| Salinas MSA (Monterey County) | $58,261 | 140 |
| Los Angeles-Long Beach-Glendale MD (Los Angeles County) | $57,396 | 4,430 |
| Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura MSA (Ventura County) | $55,628 | 250 |
| San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad MSA (San Diego County) | $55,093 | 2,170 |
| Stockton-Lodi MSA (San Joaquin County) | $55,011 | 230 |
| Sacramento-Roseville-Folsom MSA (El Dorado, Placer, Sacramento, and Yolo Counties) | $53,797 | 1,270 |
| North Coast Region (Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, and Mendocino Counties) | $53,561 | 140 |
| Chico MSA (Butte County) | $53,540 | 90 |
| Eastern Sierra-Mother Lode Region (Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Inyo, Mariposa, Mono, and Tuolumne Counties) | $53,036 | 50 |
| Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario MSA (Riverside and San Bernardino Counties) | $51,925 | 1,920 |
| San Luis Obispo-Paso Robles MSA (San Luis Obispo County) | $51,638 | 150 |
| Vallejo MSA (Solano County) | $51,401 | 120 |
| Merced MSA (Merced County) | $51,123 | 140 |
| Modesto MSA (Stanislaus County) | $51,123 | 210 |
| Visalia MSA (Tulare County) | $50,290 | 160 |
| Fresno MSA (Fresno and Madera Counties) | $49,529 | 600 |
| El Centro MSA (Imperial County) | $48,120 | 130 |
| Bakersfield-Delano MSA (Kern County) | $47,987 | 360 |
What the pay actually ranges across
- The lowest-paid tenth earn under
- $46,642
- A quarter earn under
- $49,011
- Half earn under
- $57,459
- Three quarters earn under
- $64,380
- The highest-paid tenth earn over
- $76,223
A median is one point. These are the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for California, and they say how far apart the people doing this job actually are. Read them as the spread across everyone already in the work — not as a starting wage and not as a promise about where anyone lands.
Similar work
O*NET, the U.S. Department of Labor's occupation database, names these as occupations involving work similar to this one — its own reading of the job, not a grouping by code. They keep O*NET's order, and only those California publishes a projection for are shown.
| Occupation | Typical pay in California | Projected openings | Projected change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians | $80,358 | 4,280 | +15.5% |
| Medical Assistants | $50,918 | 175,850 | +22.7% |
| Paramedics | $76,678 | 3,120 | +15.7% |
Programs that train for this job — 55
Phlebotomy Technician
Merced Adult School · Merced · $3,285
- Working 6 months later
- 46%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $21,160
Phlebotomy Technician and Medical Lab Assistant
Grossmont Adult School · El Cajon · $875
- Working 6 months later
- 100%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $10,138
Certified Phlebotomy Technician
NIU College · Woodland Hills · $2,220
- Working 6 months later
- 28%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $12,028
Medical Assistant and Phlebotomy
Downey Adult School · Downey · $6,501
- Working 6 months later
- 36%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $11,804
Certified Nursing Assistant/Phlebotomist
Downey Adult School · Downey · $2,646
- Working 6 months later
- 87%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $9,250
Phlebotomy Technician
Los Angeles City College · Los Angeles · $415
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Phlebotomy Technician (CPT-1)
West Los Angeles College · Culver City · $2,167
- Working 6 months later
- 100%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $11,882
Phlebotomy Technician
Contra Costa Medical Career College · Antioch · $3,298
- Working 6 months later
- 3%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $5,471
Medical Assisting - Phlebotomy Technician Certificate of Achievement
Cabrillo College · Aptos · $1,528
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Phlebotomy Technician
Antelope Valley Adult School · Lancaster · $3,285
- Working 6 months later
- 13%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $11,000
Phlebotomy Training Program
Los Angeles Career College - Main · Northridge · $2,395
- Working 6 months later
- 78%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $8,980
Medical Assisting Program w/ Phlebotomy
Bay Area Medical Academy · San Francisco · $16,850
- Working 6 months later
- 65%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Phlebotomy Technician CPT1 Training
Bay Area Medical Academy · San Francisco · $3,515
- Working 6 months later
- 42%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Phlebotomy Certificate of Accomplishment
City College of San Francisco · San Francisco · $423
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Phlebotomy Technician Training
Universal Healthcare Careers College · Los Angeles · $2,320
- Working 6 months later
- 76%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $10,543
Phlebotomy Technician I (CPT - I)
Twilight Adult Education School · Pasadena · $2,950
- Working 6 months later
- 67%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $10,660
Phlebotomy Technician (CPT1)
Elk Grove Adult and Community Education · Sacramento · $2,995
- Working 6 months later
- 88%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Phlebotomy CPT I
Kern High School District-BAS · Bakersfield · $800
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Phlebotomy
BAMA Institute, LLC · San Jose · $3,205
- Working 6 months later
- 48%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $13,260
Intravenous Therapy Blood Withdrawal Certification
Curam College (Nursing Practice and Education Consultants) · Sacramento · $535
- Working 6 months later
- 100%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Phlebotomy Technician I
De Anza College, Occupational Training Institute · Cupertino · $6,417
- Working 6 months later
- 3%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Outcomes cover more than this program The provider filed these figures against more than the program named — several of its programs, or the whole institution. They are shown because they are real, and nothing here ranks or rates them, because they do not describe this program.
Phlebotomy Technician (CPT1)
Vallejo Adult School · Fairfield · $3,285
- Working 6 months later
- 67%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $8,645
Phlebotomy Plus LLC
Phlebotomy Plus LLC · Brentwood · $3,179
- Working 6 months later
- 18%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $14,923
Phlebotomy Technician
CA Trade Academy · Ontario · $1,595
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Phlebotomy Training Program
Porterville Adult School · Porterville · $1,300
- Working 6 months later
- 100%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $5,887
Phlebotomy Technician
Petaluma Adult School · Santa Rosa · $3,285
- Working 6 months later
- 17%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Phlebotomy Technician I Program
Butte County Regional Occupational Program · Chico · $3,234
- Working 6 months later
- 32%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $10,915
Lab Assistant, EKG Technician/Phlebotomist
Institute for Business and Technology · San Jose · $16,280
- Working 6 months later
- 50%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $12,090
Phlebotomy Technician/Phlebotomist
First Lady Permanente · Turlock · $4,346
- Working 6 months later
- 50%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $9,739
Phlebotomy Technician Training Program
Regan Career Institute · South El Monte · $2,600
- Working 6 months later
- 79%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $10,082
Phlebotomy Technician
Fairfield Suisun Adult School · Fairfield · $2,995
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
Phlebotomy Technician
Roseville Adult School · Roseville · $2,995
- Working 6 months later
- 37%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $19,438
Phlebotomy Technician 1
Clinical Training Institute · Oxnard · $2,965
- Working 6 months later
- 65%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $8,480
Phlebotomy Training Program
Folsom Cordova Adult School · Rancho Cordova · $3,180
- Working 6 months later
- 67%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $9,081
002329 Phlebotomist
Simi Institute for Careers and Education · Simi Valley · $1,355
- Working 6 months later
- 46%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $9,620
Phlebotomy
Mendocino County Office of Education · Ukiah · $3,188
- Working 6 months later
- 93%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $11,011
Phlebotomy Program (Del Norte Campus Only)
College of the Redwoods · Eureka · $2,495
- Working 6 months later
- 88%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $5,832
Phlebotomy Training
College of the Redwoods · Eureka · $2,745
- Working 6 months later
- 88%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $5,832
Phlebotomy Training Program
Tulare Adult School · Tulare · $1,650
- Working 6 months later
- 57%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $9,543
Phlebotomy Technician
Mission Career College · Riverside · $2,050
- Working 6 months later
- 85%
- Earnings in one quarter after
- $4,134