Not a California state website. An independent project built from public data.
Afterward · CA

California training programs, and what happened to the people who took them

Español (inicio)

Back to search

DENTL: Associate in science degree Dental Assisting

Diablo Valley College · Pleasant Hill, CA

Cost
$5,143
Length
64 weeks
Working 6 months later
Not reported

Program names and program descriptions appear here in English, because that is the only language the federal and state records publish them in. Occupation titles are translated where O*NET publishes a Spanish name. Everything else on this page is translated.

What happened to people who took this

People enrolled
11

Small group — treat with caution

Finished the program
27%Based on 11 peopleTypical California program: 85% of 1,951 reportingThat median pools every California program that reported this measure, whatever its length, credential, or field, and leaves out the ones that reported nothing. It is a reference point, not a rating of this program.
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earnings in one quarter after
Not reported

The jobs this trains for

This describes the jobs people do, not the classes this program teaches. It comes from the U.S. Department of Labor, which asks people already doing the work. The Department publishes it in English only, so the job names and the sentences below stay in English on this page.

Shrinking -2.1%
California projects this job will shrink over the next ten years. Fewer openings may mean a harder search.

Trains for more than one job. The outlook shown is the weakest of them.

Related work California expects more of

The U.S. Department of Labor lists these as related to the job above, and California projects growth in them rather than decline. Related is not the same as interchangeable: the training, the licenses and the pay can all differ, and this program does not train for these. It is a place to start asking, not a recommendation.

Where California publishes a separate figure for Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties), it appears beneath the statewide one. Statewide stays the headline: people who train here do not necessarily work here.

Dental Assistants

Job ads may call this: Dental Assistant (DA) · Oral Surgery Assistant · Expanded Dental Assistant · Surgical Dental Assistant

Some of what people in this job do. The Department rates how important each one is, and they appear in that order.

  • Prepare patient, sterilize or disinfect instruments, set up instrument trays, prepare materials, or assist dentist during dental procedures.
  • Record treatment information in patient records.
  • Assist dentist in management of medical or dental emergencies.
  • Order and monitor dental supplies and equipment inventory.
Show 4 more things this job involves
  • Expose dental diagnostic x-rays.
  • Provide postoperative instructions prescribed by dentist.
  • Instruct patients in oral hygiene and plaque control programs.
  • Take and record medical and dental histories and vital signs of patients.

What this pays in Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties)

Each bar runs from the lowest-paid tenth to the highest-paid tenth. The darker middle is where half the people are, and the line is the median.

AreaThe lowest-paid tenth earn underHalf earn underThe highest-paid tenth earn over
Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties)$49,014$65,777$81,232
Across California$39,773$51,379$75,567

The federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties) beside the same figures for the whole state. A region can sit well below or above the statewide spread, and the statewide number is the one most often quoted — so where they differ, the local row is the one that describes the work near this program.

Typical pay in California
$51,379per yearOakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD: $64,395
Projected openings
81,180Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD: 6,280
Projected change
+10%
Usually needs
Postsecondary non-degree award

Getting in

Experience needed first
None
Training after you are hired
None

No earlier job experience is expected, and new hires are not put through a long training period. For work like this, a program is usually the way in.

These are the federal government's answers for the occupation, not rules this provider sets. California publishes the same two answers for every one of these jobs.

Dental Laboratory Technicians

Pay, hiring, and what people studied

Job ads may call this: Waxer · Ceramist · Metal Finisher · Dental Ceramist

  • Read prescriptions or specifications and examine models or impressions to determine the design of dental products to be constructed.
  • Test appliances for conformance to specifications and accuracy of occlusion, using articulators and micrometers.
  • Fabricate, alter, or repair dental devices, such as dentures, crowns, bridges, inlays, or appliances for straightening teeth.
  • Prepare metal surfaces for bonding with porcelain to create artificial teeth, using small hand tools.
Show 4 more things this job involves
  • Rebuild or replace linings, wire sections, or missing teeth to repair dentures.
  • Place tooth models on an apparatus that mimics bite and movement of patient's jaw to evaluate functionality of model.
  • Apply porcelain paste or wax over prosthesis frameworks or setups, using brushes and spatulas.
  • Remove excess metal or porcelain and polish surfaces of prostheses or frameworks, using polishing machines.
Typical pay in California
$48,492per yearOakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD: $57,792
Projected openings
5,390Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD: 220
Projected change
-2.1%
Usually needs
High school diploma or equivalent

Getting in

Experience needed first
None
Training after you are hired
1 to 12 months

Program details

This program provides in-person instruction only.

The DVC dental assisting program is approved by the Dental Board of California and accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association. This AS program prepares individuals to provide patient care, take dental radiographs, x-ray photographs, prepare patients and equipment for dental procedures and discharge office administrative functions under the supervision of dentists and dental hygienists. Includes instruction in medical record-keeping, general office duties, reception and patient intake, scheduling, equipment maintenance and sterilization, basic radiography, pre- and post-operative patient care and instruction, chairside assisting, taking tooth and mouth impressions, and supervised practice. Note: This is a highly competitive program limited to 24 students each Fall term. Prior to August 1st, students who have successfully passed DENTL-120 and have chosen to enroll in the program must show: 1. Proof of CPR certification; 2. required immunization/titers; 3. proof of negative one-step TB test; 4. Results of physical exam; 5. Results of certified background check; 6. Results of certified drug tests and background check (reporting documents handed out during orientation meeting).

Someone else may be able to pay for this

This program was on California's Eligible Training Provider List when the state last reported it to the U.S. Department of Labor (2026-09-18). Programs on that list can be paid for through an Individual Training Account. Listings are renewed periodically and can lapse, so a program listed when the state last reported may not be listed today. Ask before you rely on it.

Ask before you enroll, not after

The order the rules set out starts at the center rather than at the school. Before a center can find somebody eligible for training services it has to gather enough to decide, at a minimum through an interview, evaluation or assessment and career planning. Referring a person to the provider they have chosen and setting up the account both come after that, and both are the center's to do — the account is a payment agreement with the training provider, and it is the provider that is paid through it. So the call belongs before enrolling and before paying. Anyone who has already done either should still ask, and ask what it means for them.

The place to ask is an America's Job Center of California

  • Concord America`s Job Center of California / East Bay WorksComprehensive center

    Phone: 925-671-4500

    4071 Port Chicago HighwaySuite 250Concord, CA 94520about 5.1 miles away

    Hours: M-F 8:30 am-5:00 pm

    Has a veterans' representative

  • East Oakland Neighborhood Career CenterAffiliate site

    Phone: 510-568-8349

    7200 Bancroft AvenueSuite 140Oakland, CA 94605about 13.9 miles away

    Hours: Monday - Thursday 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m., Friday 9 a.m.-4 p.m.

  • The Unity Council Career & Resource CenterAffiliate site

    Phone: 510-535-6101

    1900 Fruitvale AvenueOakland, CA 94601about 14.2 miles away

    Hours: Monday - Friday 9:00am-5:00pm

At a comprehensive center all the required partner programs can be reached; an affiliate site offers some of them. Distances are straight-line, so the drive is longer. Call before you travel: opening hours here are as the federal directory published them, and the state notes its own staff are not present at every location.

Find a center anywhere in California, and check what is on the list today:
CareerOneStop — American Job Center Finder (U.S. DOL) · California EDD — Office Locator · California EDD — Eligible Training Provider List

How this gets paid for, and what to ask

Whether a person can have a program paid for is decided by their local workforce development board and the America's Job Center staff who interview them — not by this site, and not by the training provider. California has 45 local workforce development areas and each sets its own policies, so the answer can differ between two people in neighboring counties. Nothing here is a promise of funding or a determination of eligibility.

The rules cited here, and the state and federal sites linked to, are published in English.

How this site gets its figures, and what they do not tell you