Not a California state website. An independent project built from public data.
Afterward · CA

California training programs, and what happened to the people who took them

Español (inicio)

Back to search

EKG Technician

California State University, East Bay, University Extension · Hayward, CA

Cost
$1,615
Length
10 weeks
Working 6 months later
Not reported

Program names and program descriptions appear here in English, because that is the only language the federal and state records publish them in. Occupation titles are translated where O*NET publishes a Spanish name. Everything else on this page is translated.

What happened to people who took this

People enrolled
204
Finished the program
96%Based on 202 peopleTypical California program: 85% of 1,951 reportingThat median pools every California program that reported this measure, whatever its length, credential, or field, and leaves out the ones that reported nothing. It is a reference point, not a rating of this program.
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earnings in one quarter after
Not reported

The jobs this trains for

This describes the jobs people do, not the classes this program teaches. It comes from the U.S. Department of Labor, which asks people already doing the work. The Department publishes it in English only, so the job names and the sentences below stay in English on this page.

Trains for more than one job. The outlook shown is the weakest of them.

Where California publishes a separate figure for Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties), it appears beneath the statewide one. Statewide stays the headline: people who train here do not necessarily work here.

Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary

Job ads may call this: Lecturer · Professor · Instructor · Clinical Professor

Some of what people in this job do. The Department rates how important each one is, and they appear in that order.

  • Prepare course materials, such as syllabi, homework assignments, and handouts.
  • Keep abreast of developments in the field by reading current literature, talking with colleagues, and participating in professional conferences.
  • Evaluate and grade students' class work, assignments, and papers.
  • Supervise laboratory sessions.
Show 4 more things this job involves
  • Compile, administer, and grade examinations, or assign this work to others.
  • Prepare and deliver lectures to undergraduate or graduate students on topics such as public health, stress management, and work site health promotion.
  • Maintain student attendance records, grades, and other required records.
  • Initiate, facilitate, and moderate classroom discussions.

What this pays in Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties)

Each bar runs from the lowest-paid tenth to the highest-paid tenth. The darker middle is where half the people are, and the line is the median.

AreaThe lowest-paid tenth earn underHalf earn underThe highest-paid tenth earn over
Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties)$57,855$131,314$307,312
Across California$67,344$169,732$392,241

The federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties) beside the same figures for the whole state. A region can sit well below or above the statewide spread, and the statewide number is the one most often quoted — so where they differ, the local row is the one that describes the work near this program.

Typical pay in California
$169,732per yearOakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD: $96,175
Projected openings
20,800Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD: 630
Projected change
+19.2%
Usually needs
Doctoral or professional degree

Getting in

Experience needed first
Under 5 years in a related job
Training after you are hired
None

Employers usually expect some time in a related job as well as the training. Ask the provider what their graduates did before they were hired.

These are the federal government's answers for the occupation, not rules this provider sets. California publishes the same two answers for every one of these jobs.

Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians

Pay, hiring, and what people studied

Job ads may call this: Cardiac Technician · Cardiology Technician · Cardiopulmonary Technician · Cardiovascular Technologist (CVT)

  • Conduct electrocardiogram (EKG), phonocardiogram, echocardiogram, stress testing, or other cardiovascular tests to record patients' cardiac activity, using specialized electronic test equipment, recording devices, or laboratory instruments.
  • Compare measurements of heart wall thickness and chamber sizes to standard norms to identify abnormalities.
  • Explain testing procedures to patients to obtain cooperation and reduce anxiety.
  • Maintain a proper sterile field during surgical procedures.
Show 4 more things this job involves
  • Observe ultrasound display screen and listen to signals to record vascular information, such as blood pressure, limb volume changes, oxygen saturation, or cerebral circulation.
  • Monitor patients' blood pressure and heart rate using electrocardiogram (EKG) equipment during diagnostic or therapeutic procedures to notify the physician if something appears wrong.
  • Assist physicians in the diagnosis and treatment of cardiac or peripheral vascular treatments, such as implanting pacemakers or assisting with balloon angioplasties to treat blood vessel blockages.
  • Assess cardiac physiology and calculate valve areas from blood flow velocity measurements.

What this pays in Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties)

Each bar runs from the lowest-paid tenth to the highest-paid tenth. The darker middle is where half the people are, and the line is the median.

AreaThe lowest-paid tenth earn underHalf earn underThe highest-paid tenth earn over
Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties)$62,442$105,608$181,232
Across California$56,252$80,358$161,878

The federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties) beside the same figures for the whole state. A region can sit well below or above the statewide spread, and the statewide number is the one most often quoted — so where they differ, the local row is the one that describes the work near this program.

Typical pay in California
$80,358per yearOakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD: $92,412
Projected openings
4,280Oakland-Fremont-Berkeley MD: 210
Projected change
+15.5%
Usually needs
Associate's degree

Getting in

Experience needed first
None
Training after you are hired
None

No earlier job experience is expected, and new hires are not put through a long training period. For work like this, a program is usually the way in.

Program details

This program provides in-person instruction only.

To earn an EKG Technician Certificate, you must complete one required 10-week/50-hour course. The course includes a graded final exam to help prepare you for the National Healthcareer Association (NHA) Electrocardiograph (EKG) Technician Exams. You will be required to pass EKG Technician Exams and other state and national certification exams administered by ASPT.

Someone else may be able to pay for this

This program was on California's Eligible Training Provider List when the state last reported it to the U.S. Department of Labor (2026-09-18). Programs on that list can be paid for through an Individual Training Account. Listings are renewed periodically and can lapse, so a program listed when the state last reported may not be listed today. Ask before you rely on it.

Ask before you enroll, not after

The order the rules set out starts at the center rather than at the school. Before a center can find somebody eligible for training services it has to gather enough to decide, at a minimum through an interview, evaluation or assessment and career planning. Referring a person to the provider they have chosen and setting up the account both come after that, and both are the center's to do — the account is a payment agreement with the training provider, and it is the provider that is paid through it. So the call belongs before enrolling and before paying. Anyone who has already done either should still ask, and ask what it means for them.

The place to ask is an America's Job Center of California

  • Eden Area AJCCComprehensive center

    Phone: 510-670-5700; for resources and services

    24100 Amador StreetGail Steele Multi-Service Center , 3rd FloorHayward, CA 94544about 3 miles away

    Hours: Mon/Tues/Thurs 8:30am-5pm -Wed 8:30am-7pm-Fri 8:30am-12:30pm

  • America`s Job Center of California- FremontAffiliate site

    Phone: 510-794-3669

    39155 Liberty StreetFremont Family Resource Center ,Suite B200Fremont, CA 94538about 7.5 miles away

    Hours: Mon - Fri 8 AM - 5 PM

    Has a veterans' representative

  • Tri-Valley Career CenterAffiliate site

    Phone: 925-416-5100

    5860 Owens Drive3rd FloorPleasanton, CA 94588about 8.4 miles away

    Hours: Walk-ins Welcome, Monday, Wednesday & Thursday: 9:00am - 5:30pm; Tuesdays: 10:30am - 5:30pm, Fridays: Closed

At a comprehensive center all the required partner programs can be reached; an affiliate site offers some of them. Distances are straight-line, so the drive is longer. Call before you travel: opening hours here are as the federal directory published them, and the state notes its own staff are not present at every location.

Find a center anywhere in California, and check what is on the list today:
CareerOneStop — American Job Center Finder (U.S. DOL) · California EDD — Office Locator · California EDD — Eligible Training Provider List

How this gets paid for, and what to ask

Whether a person can have a program paid for is decided by their local workforce development board and the America's Job Center staff who interview them — not by this site, and not by the training provider. California has 45 local workforce development areas and each sets its own policies, so the answer can differ between two people in neighboring counties. Nothing here is a promise of funding or a determination of eligibility.

The rules cited here, and the state and federal sites linked to, are published in English.

How this site gets its figures, and what they do not tell you