Law Enforcement Academy - Basic (AS Degree)
Butte College · Oroville, CA
- Cost
- $5,500
- Length
- 23 weeks
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
Program names and program descriptions appear here in English, because that is the only language the federal and state records publish them in. Occupation titles are translated where O*NET publishes a Spanish name. Everything else on this page is translated.
What happened to people who took this
- People enrolled
- 229
- Finished the program
- 76%Based on 252 peopleTypical California program: 85% of 1,951 reportingThat median pools every California program that reported this measure, whatever its length, credential, or field, and leaves out the ones that reported nothing. It is a reference point, not a rating of this program.
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earnings in one quarter after
- Not reported
The job this trains for
This describes the jobs people do, not the classes this program teaches. It comes from the U.S. Department of Labor, which asks people already doing the work. The Department publishes it in English only, so the job names and the sentences below stay in English on this page.
Where California publishes a separate figure for Chico MSA (Butte County), it appears beneath the statewide one. Statewide stays the headline: people who train here do not necessarily work here.
Police and Sheriff's Patrol Officers
Job ads may call this: Deputy · Patrol Deputy · Peace Officer · State Trooper
Some of what people in this job do. The Department rates how important each one is, and they appear in that order.
- Identify, pursue, and arrest suspects and perpetrators of criminal acts.
- Provide for public safety by maintaining order, responding to emergencies, protecting people and property, enforcing motor vehicle and criminal laws, and promoting good community relations.
- Record facts to prepare reports that document incidents and activities.
- Render aid to accident survivors and other persons requiring first aid for physical injuries.
Show 4 more things this job involves
- Review facts of incidents to determine if criminal act or statute violations were involved.
- Investigate illegal or suspicious activities.
- Monitor, note, report, and investigate suspicious persons and situations, safety hazards, and unusual or illegal activity in patrol area.
- Testify in court to present evidence or act as witness in traffic and criminal cases.
What this pays in Chico MSA (Butte County)
Each bar runs from the lowest-paid tenth to the highest-paid tenth. The darker middle is where half the people are, and the line is the median.
| Area | The lowest-paid tenth earn under | Half earn under | The highest-paid tenth earn over |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chico MSA (Butte County) | $57,234 | $97,160 | $159,931 |
| Across California | $78,233 | $121,891 | $157,070 |
The federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for Chico MSA (Butte County) beside the same figures for the whole state. A region can sit well below or above the statewide spread, and the statewide number is the one most often quoted — so where they differ, the local row is the one that describes the work near this program.
- Typical pay in California
- $121,891per yearChico MSA: $98,616
- Projected openings
- 52,390Chico MSA: 170
- Projected change
- +5.2%
- Usually needs
- High school diploma or equivalent
Getting in
- Experience needed first
- None
- Training after you are hired
- 1 to 12 months
These are the federal government's answers for the occupation, not rules this provider sets. California publishes the same two answers for every one of these jobs.
Program details
This program provides in-person instruction only.
The Law Enforcement Academy program is designed to prepare students to meet entry-level requirements for jobs in the law enforcement profession. The curriculum has sufficient breadth to allow students to pursue a career in a variety of agencies. Typically, the Basic Law Enforcement Academy begins in July and again in January. For the AS degree employable skills are developed in conjunction with General Education.
Someone else may be able to pay for this
This program was on California's Eligible Training Provider List when the state last reported it to the U.S. Department of Labor (2026-09-18). Programs on that list can be paid for through an Individual Training Account. Listings are renewed periodically and can lapse, so a program listed when the state last reported may not be listed today. Ask before you rely on it.
Ask before you enroll, not after
The order the rules set out starts at the center rather than at the school. Before a center can find somebody eligible for training services it has to gather enough to decide, at a minimum through an interview, evaluation or assessment and career planning. Referring a person to the provider they have chosen and setting up the account both come after that, and both are the center's to do — the account is a payment agreement with the training provider, and it is the provider that is paid through it. So the call belongs before enrolling and before paying. Anyone who has already done either should still ask, and ask what it means for them.
The place to ask is an America's Job Center of California
Alliance for Workforce Development Inc.-OrovilleComprehensive center
Phone: 530-538-7301
78 Table Mountain BlvdButte Co. Dept. of Employment and Social ServicesOroville, CA 95965about 6.3 miles away
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm
Has a veterans' representative
Nations Finest OfficeAffiliate site
Phone: 530-809-2831
535 Wall StreetChico, CA 95928about 18.1 miles away
Hours: Monday -Friday 8:00am-5:00pm
Alliance for Workforce Development, Inc.Comprehensive center
Phone: 530-961-5125
500 Cohasset Road, Suite # 30Chico, CA 95926about 19.9 miles away
Hours: Monday - -Friday 8:000am - 5:00pm
Has a veterans' representative
At a comprehensive center all the required partner programs can be reached; an affiliate site offers some of them. Distances are straight-line, so the drive is longer. Call before you travel: opening hours here are as the federal directory published them, and the state notes its own staff are not present at every location.
Find a center anywhere in California, and check what is on the list today:
CareerOneStop — American Job Center Finder (U.S. DOL) · California EDD — Office Locator · California EDD — Eligible Training Provider List
How this gets paid for, and what to ask →
Whether a person can have a program paid for is decided by their local workforce development board and the America's Job Center staff who interview them — not by this site, and not by the training provider. California has 45 local workforce development areas and each sets its own policies, so the answer can differ between two people in neighboring counties. Nothing here is a promise of funding or a determination of eligibility.
The rules cited here, and the state and federal sites linked to, are published in English.
How this site gets its figures, and what they do not tell you →