Not a California state website. An independent project built from public data.
Afterward · CA

California training programs, and what happened to the people who took them

Español (inicio)

Back to search

Certified Fitness Trainer

Lionel University · Carpinteria, CA

Cost
$1,889
Length
10 weeks
Working 6 months later
Not reported

Program names and program descriptions appear here in English, because that is the only language the federal and state records publish them in. Occupation titles are translated where O*NET publishes a Spanish name. Everything else on this page is translated.

What happened to people who took this

People enrolled
152
Finished the program
96%Based on 114 peopleTypical California program: 85% of 1,951 reportingThat median pools every California program that reported this measure, whatever its length, credential, or field, and leaves out the ones that reported nothing. It is a reference point, not a rating of this program.
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earnings in one quarter after
Not reported

The job this trains for

This describes the jobs people do, not the classes this program teaches. It comes from the U.S. Department of Labor, which asks people already doing the work. The Department publishes it in English only, so the job names and the sentences below stay in English on this page.

No regional figures for this program

This program's ZIP code reaches into more than one of the labor-market areas California publishes, and nothing in the state's own area titles says which one it belongs to. Either answer would look exactly like a correct answer here, so neither is given and the statewide figures stand alone.

Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors

Job ads may call this: Fitness Trainer · Private Trainer · Yoga Instructor · Personal Trainer

Some of what people in this job do. The Department rates how important each one is, and they appear in that order.

  • Observe participants and inform them of corrective measures necessary for skill improvement.
  • Offer alternatives during classes to accommodate different levels of fitness.
  • Monitor participants' progress and adapt programs as needed.
  • Plan routines, choose appropriate music, and choose different movements for each set of muscles, depending on participants' capabilities and limitations.
Show 4 more things this job involves
  • Evaluate individuals' abilities, needs, and physical conditions, and develop suitable training programs to meet any special requirements.
  • Instruct participants in maintaining exertion levels to maximize benefits from exercise routines.
  • Teach and demonstrate use of gymnastic and training equipment, such as trampolines and weights.
  • Explain and enforce safety rules and regulations governing sports, recreational activities, and the use of exercise equipment.
Typical pay in California
$59,459per year
Projected openings
105,200
Projected change
+16.7%
Usually needs
High school diploma or equivalent

Getting in

Experience needed first
None
Training after you are hired
Under a month

No earlier job experience is expected, and new hires are not put through a long training period. For work like this, a program is usually the way in.

These are the federal government's answers for the occupation, not rules this provider sets. California publishes the same two answers for every one of these jobs.

Program details

This program provides online instruction, e-learning, or distance learning only.

The Certified Fitness Trainer program is designed to equip graduates with the practical day-to-day skills necessary, as well as the theoretical knowledge needed to excel as a Personal Trainer serving the general public. Along with the necessary exercise science foundation, the program covers client assessment, program design, basic nutrition, and sports medicine along with business and marketing skills.

Someone else may be able to pay for this

This program was on California's Eligible Training Provider List when the state last reported it to the U.S. Department of Labor (2026-09-18). Programs on that list can be paid for through an Individual Training Account. Listings are renewed periodically and can lapse, so a program listed when the state last reported may not be listed today. Ask before you rely on it.

Ask before you enroll, not after

The order the rules set out starts at the center rather than at the school. Before a center can find somebody eligible for training services it has to gather enough to decide, at a minimum through an interview, evaluation or assessment and career planning. Referring a person to the provider they have chosen and setting up the account both come after that, and both are the center's to do — the account is a payment agreement with the training provider, and it is the provider that is paid through it. So the call belongs before enrolling and before paying. Anyone who has already done either should still ask, and ask what it means for them.

The place to ask is an America's Job Center of California

  • American Job Center of California- Santa BarbaraAffiliate site

    Phone: 805-568-1296

    130 East Ortega StreetWorkforce Resource CenterSanta Barbara, CA 93101about 10.1 miles away

    Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm

  • America`s Job Center of California OxnardComprehensive center

    Phone: 805-648-WORK (9675)

    2901 N. Ventura RoadThird FloorOxnard, CA 93036-1150about 23.1 miles away

    Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday - Friday

    Has a veterans' representative

At a comprehensive center all the required partner programs can be reached; an affiliate site offers some of them. Distances are straight-line, so the drive is longer. Call before you travel: opening hours here are as the federal directory published them, and the state notes its own staff are not present at every location.

Find a center anywhere in California, and check what is on the list today:
CareerOneStop — American Job Center Finder (U.S. DOL) · California EDD — Office Locator · California EDD — Eligible Training Provider List

How this gets paid for, and what to ask

Whether a person can have a program paid for is decided by their local workforce development board and the America's Job Center staff who interview them — not by this site, and not by the training provider. California has 45 local workforce development areas and each sets its own policies, so the answer can differ between two people in neighboring counties. Nothing here is a promise of funding or a determination of eligibility.

The rules cited here, and the state and federal sites linked to, are published in English.

How this site gets its figures, and what they do not tell you