Not a California state website. An independent project built from public data.
Afterward · CA

California training programs, and what happened to the people who took them

Español (inicio)

Back to search

Child Development Certificate of Achievement

Mendocino College · Ukiah, CA

Cost
$2,105
Length
34 weeks
Working 6 months later
Not reported

Program names and program descriptions appear here in English, because that is the only language the federal and state records publish them in. Occupation titles are translated where O*NET publishes a Spanish name. Everything else on this page is translated.

What happened to people who took this

People enrolled
409
Finished the program
97%Based on 239 peopleTypical California program: 85% of 1,951 reportingThat median pools every California program that reported this measure, whatever its length, credential, or field, and leaves out the ones that reported nothing. It is a reference point, not a rating of this program.
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earnings in one quarter after
Not reported

The job this trains for

This describes the jobs people do, not the classes this program teaches. It comes from the U.S. Department of Labor, which asks people already doing the work. The Department publishes it in English only, so the job names and the sentences below stay in English on this page.

Where California publishes a separate figure for North Coast Region (Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, and Mendocino Counties), it appears beneath the statewide one. Statewide stays the headline: people who train here do not necessarily work here.

Childcare Workers

Job ads may call this: Caregiver · Daycare Worker · Infant Teacher · Child Caregiver

Some of what people in this job do. The Department rates how important each one is, and they appear in that order.

  • Maintain a safe play environment.
  • Observe and monitor children's play activities.
  • Communicate with children's parents or guardians about daily activities, behaviors, and related issues.
  • Support children's emotional and social development, encouraging understanding of others and positive self-concepts.
Show 4 more things this job involves
  • Care for children in institutional setting, such as group homes, nursery schools, private businesses, or schools for people with disabilities.
  • Sanitize toys and play equipment.
  • Dress children and change diapers.
  • Keep records on individual children, including daily observations and information about activities, meals served, and medications administered.

What this pays in North Coast Region (Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, and Mendocino Counties)

Each bar runs from the lowest-paid tenth to the highest-paid tenth. The darker middle is where half the people are, and the line is the median.

AreaThe lowest-paid tenth earn underHalf earn underThe highest-paid tenth earn over
North Coast Region (Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, and Mendocino Counties)$36,051$40,695$52,856
Across California$36,235$41,034$54,004

The federal Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2026 figures for North Coast Region (Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, and Mendocino Counties) beside the same figures for the whole state. A region can sit well below or above the statewide spread, and the statewide number is the one most often quoted — so where they differ, the local row is the one that describes the work near this program.

Typical pay in California
$41,034per yearNorth Coast Region: $39,656
Projected openings
135,490North Coast Region: 1,150
Projected change
+1.5%
Usually needs
High school diploma or equivalent

Getting in

Experience needed first
None
Training after you are hired
Under a month

No earlier job experience is expected, and new hires are not put through a long training period. For work like this, a program is usually the way in.

These are the federal government's answers for the occupation, not rules this provider sets. California publishes the same two answers for every one of these jobs.

Program details

This is a hybrid or blended program providing both in-person and online instruction.

The Child Development Certificate of Achievement is designed for the student who desires knowledge about Early Childhood Development and skills for teaching young children.

Someone else may be able to pay for this

This program was on California's Eligible Training Provider List when the state last reported it to the U.S. Department of Labor (2026-09-18). Programs on that list can be paid for through an Individual Training Account. Listings are renewed periodically and can lapse, so a program listed when the state last reported may not be listed today. Ask before you rely on it.

Ask before you enroll, not after

The order the rules set out starts at the center rather than at the school. Before a center can find somebody eligible for training services it has to gather enough to decide, at a minimum through an interview, evaluation or assessment and career planning. Referring a person to the provider they have chosen and setting up the account both come after that, and both are the center's to do — the account is a payment agreement with the training provider, and it is the provider that is paid through it. So the call belongs before enrolling and before paying. Anyone who has already done either should still ask, and ask what it means for them.

The place to ask is an America's Job Center of California

  • CareerPoint MendocinoComprehensive center

    Phone: 707-708-3828

    2550 N. State StreetSuite 3Ukiah, CA 95482about 5.8 miles away

    Hours: Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm, closed 12noon - 1pm

    Has a veterans' representative

At a comprehensive center all the required partner programs can be reached; an affiliate site offers some of them. Distances are straight-line, so the drive is longer. Call before you travel: opening hours here are as the federal directory published them, and the state notes its own staff are not present at every location.

Find a center anywhere in California, and check what is on the list today:
CareerOneStop — American Job Center Finder (U.S. DOL) · California EDD — Office Locator · California EDD — Eligible Training Provider List

How this gets paid for, and what to ask

Whether a person can have a program paid for is decided by their local workforce development board and the America's Job Center staff who interview them — not by this site, and not by the training provider. California has 45 local workforce development areas and each sets its own policies, so the answer can differ between two people in neighboring counties. Nothing here is a promise of funding or a determination of eligibility.

The rules cited here, and the state and federal sites linked to, are published in English.

How this site gets its figures, and what they do not tell you